media

Gustave Landauer

"The drum adjusts angrily."

Lecture: Dr.Siegbert Wolf on Gustav Landauer's democratic utopia

Logo.JPG

 

Organizer: Alevi Educational Institute "Șah İbrahim Veli" eV

Good coexistence in a pluralistic society is not easy. Every generation has to redefine and cultivate the necessary culture of conversation so that intolerance, racism and anti-Semitism do not gain momentum. The storming of the Capitol in early 2021 clearly showed how fragile even a well-established democracy like that of the USA is. As part of "1700 years of Jewish life in Germany", the Jewish writer, theorist and activist Gustav Landauer was commemorated with a lecture and a speech and music performance. Landauer came from a Jewish liberal family in Karlsruhe and was inspired by the idea that a peaceful and just society could be created with the introduction of grassroots democracy and self-organization of the population in cooperatives.

 

In his main work "Skepsis und Mystik" (Skepsis and Mysticism), Landauer based his theory on the language criticism of his friend Fritz Mauthner, who lived in Überlingen. It was also Mauthner who drew the attention of the Jewish-secular thinker to the Christian mystic Meister Eckhart. Alongside language criticism, Eckhart's theology formed the second basis of Landauer's utopia. Although Landauer rejected the political revolution and spoke out in favor of a continuous "social revolution", in 1918 he took part in the Munich Soviet Republic as Minister for Culture and Education. In accordance with his radical-democratic convictions, all decisions should be legitimized in a grassroots-democratic manner. This daring project ended tragically with a fall at the hands of the communists and Landauer's assassination at the hands of a far-right Freikorps. The story of Gustav Landauer shows how a Jewish intellectual fought for a democratic Germany in the aftermath of the Enlightenment and the French Revolution and failed in the face of harsh reality. His intellectual borrowings from Mauthner's language criticism and Eckhart's mysticism show how origin and religion are not exclusive features in his thinking, but rather combine to form a new whole.

 

This event combines Judaism (Landauer), Christianity (Eckhart) and the Alevi community (organizer). By building such bridges, a counter-accent can be set to latent xenophobia, violence against minorities and anti-Semitism.

 

«The drum adapts angrily». The stage play by Oliver Augst (D) and Reto Friedmann (CH) for speaker (Jaap Achterberg) and drummer (Jörg Fischer) translates Landauer's "skepticism and mysticism" musically and lyrically. This form of implementation enables immersion in Gustav Landauer's world of thoughts and feelings.

 

Cooperation partner: Jewish community Konstanz eV

.

Medien

Gustav Landauer

" Die Trommel passt sich zornig an."

Vortrag: Dr.Siegbert Wolf über Gustav Landauers demokrstische Utopie

Logo.JPG

 

Veranstalter: Alevitisches Bildungswerk "Șah İbrahim Veli" e.V.

Das gute Miteinander in einer pluralen Gesellschaft ist nicht einfach gegeben. Jede Generation muss die dafür nötige Gesprächskultur wieder aufs Neue definieren und pflegen, damit Intoleranz, Rassismus und Antisemitismus keinen Aufwind bekommen. Die Erstürmung des Kapitols Anfang 2021 zeigte anschaulich, wie fragil selbst eine gestandene Demokratie wie jene der USA ist. Im Rahmen von «1700 Jahre jüdisches Leben in Deutschland» wurde mit einem Vortrag und einer Sprach- und Musikperformance dem jüdischen Schriftsteller, Theoretiker und Aktivisten Gustav Landauer gedacht. Landauer entstammte einer jüdisch-liberalen Familie in Karlsruhe und war von der Idee beseelt, dass mit der Einführung von Basisdemokratie und einer Selbstorganisation der Bevölkerung in Genossenschaften eine friedliche und gerechte Gesellschaft geschaffen werden kann.

 

In seinem Hauptwerk «Skepsis und Mystik» baute Landauer seine Theorie auf der Sprachkritik seines in Überlingen lebenden Freundes Fritz Mauthner auf. Mauthner war es auch, der den jüdisch-säkularen Denker auf den christlichen Mystiker Meister Eckhart aufmerksam machte. Eckharts Theologie bildete neben der Sprachkritik die zweite Grundlage von Landauers Utopie. Obwohl Landauer die politische Revolution ablehnte und sich für eine kontinuierliche «soziale Revolution» aussprach, beteiligte er sich 1918 als Minister für Kultur und Bildung an der Münchner Räterepublik. Seiner radikal-demokratischen Überzeugung entsprechend sollten alle Entscheide basisdemokratisch legitimiert werden. Dieses kühne Projekt endete tragisch mit einem Sturz durch die Kommunisten und schließlich der Ermordung Landauers durch ein rechtsextremes Freikorps. Die Geschichte von Gustav Landauer zeigt, wie sich ein jüdischer Intellektueller im Nachgang der Aufklärung und der Französischen Revolution für ein demokratisches Deutschland einsetzte und an der harten Realität scheiterte. Seine geistigen Anleihen in Mauthners Sprachkritik und Eckharts Mystik zeigen, wie in seinem Denken Herkunft und Religion keine ausgrenzenden Merkmale sind, sondern sich zu einem neuen Ganzen verbinden.

 

Mit dieser Veranstaltung verbinden sich Judentum (Landauer), Christentum (Eckhart) und Alevitische Gemeinschaft (Veranstalter). Mit dem Bauen solcher Brücken kann ein Gegenakzent zu latenter Ausländerfeindlichkeit, Gewalt gegen Minderheiten und gegen Antisemitismus gesetzt werden.

 

«Die Trommel passt sich zornig an» aufgeführt. Das Bühnenstück von Oliver Augst (D) und Reto Friedmann (CH) für Sprecher (Jaap Achterberg) und Trommler (Jörg Fischer) setzt Landauers «Skepsis und Mystik» musikalisch und lyrisch um. Diese Form der Umsetzung ermöglicht ein Eintauchen in die Gedanken- und Gefühlswelt von Gustav Landauer.

 

Kooperationspartner: Jüdische Gemeinde Konstanz e.V.

.