bodensee_edited.jpg
Logo 2021.JPG

final event

Sunday, June 26, 2022 at 11:00 am
in the rooms of the evangelical deanery in Überlingen on the waterfront

The "Jewish Lake Constance" project, funded by "1700 years of Jewish life in Germany", concludes with a lecture by the historian Oswald Burger on the subject: ``Jewish women in Überlingen am See`` and a musical accompaniment on the violin by Jutta Bogen with `` `Jewish Wedding Music``.

The opening speech will be held by Ms. Minia Joneck, as Chairwoman of the Jewish Community of Konstanz eV, with accompanying words of welcome by Mr. Hasan Ögütcü, Alevi Educational Institute "Șah İbrahim Veli" eV

The final event will take place in the rooms of the evangelical deanery in Überlingen, Grabenstrasse 2.

A guided tour through “Jewish Überlingen” with Mr. Oswald Burger is then planned. Participation is free.

Four Jewish Wedding Melodies

- from manuscripts of the KMDMP1 and from the repertoire of the Satmar Hasids -

1. Kale bazetsns2:  The "sitting down of the bride" was the violin's great moment in the traditional Jewish wedding ceremony. The bride, seated on a chair, was to mourn the loss of childhood. Every violinist had a soulful melody in his repertoire, which he developed with more or less rich variations and ornaments. There are several notated versions in the manuscripts of the Vernadsky Library in Kiev, including the one that the klezmer violinist Moisei Komendant wrote down in Kremenets over a hundred years ago.

 

2. Eyshes Khayil: The praise of the "good wife" is sung on Shabbat after the candles are lit: "Whoever is given a good wife is far more precious than pearls of great price." (Proverbs chap. 31, verse 10). There are many melodies to these verses.In the award-winning Netflix adaptation of Deborah Feldman's bestseller, Unorthodox, a version of the Satmar Hasidic is sung and played for the ceremonial dance of honor of the bride and groom.

 

3. Fun der Khupe: The frequently chosen title describes a happy melody with which the bridal couple was accompanied after the wedding "from the Chuppah" - the wedding canopy - away to the festival. This melody also appears in the old manuscripts They were recorded on disc by the Belfs Romanian Orchestra more than a hundred years ago.

 

4. Hakofe's Nign: This melody for a dance of joy "in rounds" also comes from the Satmar repertoire: the Torah is danced around or - as in the  "Unorthodox" film adaptation - the bride. Such a nign is sung on tonal syllables and can escalate to extreme ecstasy.

 

text: dr Jutta Bogen, Constance 2022;  www.juttabogen.de

 

1 The Kiselgof-Makonovetsky Digital Manuscript Project (KMDMP) is an international digital humanities project that combines materials collected by Zinovy Kiselgof during the An-Ski expeditions and the Makonovetsky Wedding Manuscript preserved in the Vernadsky National Library of Ukraine available to researchers, instrumentalists and singers around the world.

https://klezmerinstitute.org/KMDMP

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

 

2 The Yiddish transcription conforms to the YIVO standard.

.

bodensee_edited.jpg
Logo 2021.JPG

Abschlussveranstaltung

Sonntag, 26 Juni 2022, 11:00 Uhr
in den Räumen des evangelischen Dekanats in Überlingen an der Uferpromenade

Das Projekt " Jüdischer Bodensee" ,gefördert durch "1700 Jahre jüdisches Leben in Deutschland" schließt mit einem Vortrag des Historikers Oswald Burger zum Thema: `` Jüdische Frauen in Überlingen am See`` und einer musikalischen Umrahmung auf der Geige von Jutta Bogen mit ``Jüdische Hochzeitsmusik ``.

Die Eröffnungsrede hält Frau Minia Joneck, als Vorsitzende der Jüdischen Gemeinde Konstanz e.V. mit begleitenden Grussworten durch Herrn Hasan Ögütcü, Alevitisches Bildungswerk „Șah İbrahim Veli“ e.V.

Die Abschlussveranstaltung fndet in den Räumen des evangelischen Dekanats in Überlingen, Grabenstrasse 2 statt.

Anschließend ist eine Führung mit Herrn Oswald Burger durch das „jüdische Überlingen“ vorgesehen. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos.

Vier jüdische Hochzeits-Melodien

- aus Manuskripten des KMDMP1 und aus dem Repertoire der Satmarer Chassiden -

1. Kale bazetsns2:  Das „Hinsetzen der Braut“ war der große Moment der Geige bei der traditionellen jüdischen Hochzeitszeremonie. Die auf einem Stuhl sitzende Braut sollte den Verlust der Kindheit beweinen. Jeder Geiger hatte dafür eine gefühlvolle Melodie im Repertoire, die er mit mehr oder weniger reichen Variationen und Ornamenten ausgestaltete. In den Manuskripten der Kiewer Vernadsky Bibliothek finden sich mehrere ausnotierte Versionen, so auch die, die der Klezmer-Geiger Moisei Komendant vor über hundert Jahren in Kremenets aufgeschrieben hat.

 

2. Eyshes Khayil: Das Lob der „tüchtigen Frau" wird an Shabbat nach dem Anzünden der Kerzen gesungen: „Wem eine tüchtige Frau beschert ist, die ist viel edler als die köstlichsten Perlen.“ (Sprüche Kap. 31, Vers 10). Es gibt viele Melodien für diese Verse. In der preisgekrönten Netflix-Verfilmung von Deborah Feldmans Bestseller „Unorthodox“ wird eine Version der Satmarer Chassiden für den feierlichen Ehrentanz von Braut und Bräutigam gesungen und gespielt.

 

3. Fun der Khupe: Der häufig gewählte Titel bezeichnet eine fröhliche Melodie, mit der das Brautpaar nach der Trauung "von der Chuppah“- dem Traubaldachin - weg zum Fest begleitet wurde. Auch diese Melodie taucht in den alten Manuskripten auf. Darüber hinaus wurde sie vor über hundert Jahren von „Belfs Rumänischem Orchester“ auf Schallplatte eingespielt.

 

4. Hakofes Nign: Ebenfalls aus dem Satmarer Repertoire stammt diese Melodie für einen Freudentanz „in Runden“: tanzend umrundet wird die Thorah oder - wie in der  „Unorthodox“-Verfilmung - die Braut. Ein solcher Nign wird auf Tonsilben gesungen und kann sich zu höchster Ekstase steigern.

 

Text: Dr. Jutta Bogen, Konstanz 2022;  www.juttabogen.de

 

1 Das Kiselgof-Makonovetsky Digital Manuscript Project (KMDMP) ist ein internationales Digital-Humanities-Projekt, das Materialien, die von Zinovy Kiselgof während der An-Ski-Expeditionen gesammelt wurden, sowie das in der Vernadsky-Nationalbibliothek der Ukraine aufbewahrte Makonovetsky-Hochzeitsmanuskript für Forscher, Instrumentalisten und Sänger auf der ganzen Welt verfügbar macht.

https://klezmerinstitute.org/KMDMP

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

 

2 Die jiddische Umschrift entspricht dem YIVO-Standard.

.