1940 deportation to Gurs

Commemoration and inauguration of the memorial at Petershausen train station (Alemannenplatz)

October 22, 2021

Mahnmal_Petershausen©Stolperstein_Ini.jpg

Commemoration and inauguration of the memorial at Petershausen train station (Alemannenplatz)

On October 22, 1940, over 6,500 Jewish people from Baden and the Saar Palatinate - including 112 Jews from Konstanz - were deported to the Gurs internment camp in southern France. Numerous deportees perished in Gurs and other camps in the south of France; from 1942 onwards, thousands were deported to the extermination camps in the east and murdered.

As part of a cross-school project, young people from Konstanz have been working on a memorial to commemorate the deportees since 2019, and another group researched individual biographies. The original plan was to inaugurate the memorial on the 80th anniversary of the October deportation at Petershauser Bahnhof. On October 22, 1940, the Jews of Constance were deported from this freight depot, which was then a little out of the way. Due to the corona, the commemoration and the inauguration of the memorial had to be postponed for a year. Information from the young people on the symbolism and intention of the memorial can be found in the attachment (A memorial for Petershausen.docx). The accompanying text board was also formulated by a group of schoolchildren (Appendix: Text board memorial.docx).

The commemorative celebrations will begin on Friday, October 22, 2021 at 9.00 a.m. with a joint memorial path that leads from Bodanplatz via the city center to Petershauser Bahnhof. At individual stations, schoolchildren will present biographical texts together with the Konstanz City Theater.

This will be followed by the inauguration of the memorial and the commemoration of the 81st anniversary of the deportation from 11 a.m. at Petershauser Bahnhof, Alemannenplatz. The Südwestdeutsche Philharmonie Konstanz accompanies the event with pieces of music from the Gurs camp.

On the evening before, October 21, 2021, the exhibition "Gurs 1940", designed by the House of the Wannsee Conference, will be opened, which will be supplemented by local exhibition boards designed by the young people. It will be on display in a tent on the grounds of the Heinrich-Suso-Gymnasium until November 18th.

We thank for the support and cooperation: Alexander-von Humboldt-Gymnasium, Office for Urban Planning and Environment Konstanz, Ellenrieder-Gymnasium Konstanz, Gebhard Community School, Harald Björnsgard, Heinrich-Suso-Gymnasium, Hochbauamt Stadt Konstanz, INNOTIO, Kulturamt der Stadt Konstanz, City of Konstanz, City Archives Konstanz, City Theater Konstanz, Southwest German Philharmonic Konstanz, participants and management of the Hegau-Bodensee seminar "Search for traces", participants and management of the "art group"

.

1940 Deportation nach Gurs

Gedenkfeier und Einweihung des Mahnmals am Bahnhof Petershausen (Alemannenplatz)

22.Oktober 2021

Mahnmal_Petershausen©Stolperstein_Ini.jpg

Gedenkfeier und Einweihung des Mahnmals am Bahnhof Petershausen (Alemannenplatz)

Am 22. Oktober 1940 wurden über 6 500 jüdische Menschen aus Baden und der Saarpfalz – unter diesen auch 112 Konstanzer Jüdinnen und Juden – in das südfranzösische Internierungslager Gurs deportiert. Zahlreiche Deportierte kamen in Gurs und anderen südfranzösischen Lagern ums Leben, Tausende wurden ab 1942 in die Vernichtungslager in den Osten deportiert und ermordet.

Im Rahmen eines schulübergreifenden Projektes wurde von Konstanzer Jugendlichen seit 2019 an einem Mahnmal zur Erinnerung an die Deportierten gearbeitet, eine weitere Gruppe recherchierte einzelne Biografien. Ursprünglich war geplant, das Mahnmal am 80. Jahrestag der Oktoberdeportation am Petershauser Bahnhof einzuweihen. Von diesem damals etwas außerhalb gelegenen Güterbahnhof aus wurden am 22. Oktober 1940 die Konstanzer Jüdinnen und Juden deportiert. Coronabedingt musste die Gedenkfeier und Mahnmaleinweihung um ein Jahr verschoben werden. Informationen der Jugendlichen zu Symbolik und Intention des Mahnmals entnehmen Sie bitte der Anlage (Ein Mahnmal für Petershausen.docx). Auch die begleitende Texttafel wurde von einer Schülergruppe formuliert (Anlage: Text Tafel Mahnmal.docx).

Die Gedenkfeierlichkeiten beginnen am Freitag, dem 22. Oktober 2021 bereits um 9.00 Uhr mit einem gemeinsamen Gedenkweg, der vom Bodanplatz über die Innenstadt zum Petershauser Bahnhof führt. An einzelnen Stationen werden Schülerinnen und Schüler gemeinsam mit dem Stadttheater Konstanz biografische Texte vortragen.

Im Anschluss findet ab 11 Uhr am Petershauser Bahnhof, Alemannenplatz, die Einweihung des Mahnmals und die Gedenkfeier zum 81. Jahrestag der Deportation statt. Die Südwestdeutsche Philharmonie Konstanz begleitet die Veranstaltung mit Musikstücken aus dem Lager Gurs.

Bereits am Vorabend, dem 21. Oktober 2021, wird die vom Haus der Wannsee-Konferenz gestaltete Ausstellung „Gurs 1940“ eröffnet, die durch lokale, von den Jugendlichen gestaltete Ausstellungstafeln ergänzt wird. Sie wird bis 18. November in einem Zelt auf dem Gelände des Heinrich-Suso-Gymnasiums zu sehen sein.

Wir bedanken uns für die Unterstützung und Kooperation bei: Alexander-von Humboldt-Gymnasium, Amt für Stadtplanung und Umwelt Konstanz, Ellenrieder-Gymnasium Konstanz, Gemeinschaftsschule Gebhard, Harald Björnsgard, Heinrich-Suso-Gymnasium, Hochbauamt Stadt Konstanz, INNOTIO, Kulturamt der Stadt Konstanz, Stadt Konstanz, Stadtarchiv Konstanz, Stadttheater Konstanz, Südwestdeutsche Philharmonie Konstanz, Teilnehmende und Leitung des Hegau-Bodensee-Seminars „Spurensuche“, Teilnehmende und Leitung der „Kunstgruppe“

.