Guided tour of the Jewish Museum Hohenems, Austria

Aussen-Jüdisches Museum Hohenems.JPG

 Foto  © boo

Bild für Webseite  - Jüdisches Museum Ho

 Foto  © Jewish Museum Hohenems

Group tour, in German, with a visit to the permanent exhibition and the current exhibition, Jewish Quarter and Jewish Cemetery.

Meeting:  Sun, September 26, 2021

The planned tour of the Jewish Museum Hohenems will not take place due to a lack of registrations.

       

Arrival and departure are by private vehicle or by train (Bodensee Ticket)  

The tour starts at 11:00 am with the common meeting point in the entrance hall of the museum.

The cost of the tour is 15 euros per person. In the case of socially needy community members, the costs can be covered.     

       

Exhibition visit by adult groups
For the current exhibition "The Last Europeans", permanent exhibition:
A maximum of 12 people are permitted for groups. Introductions to exhibitions take place while sitting at an appropriate distance. Participation on site is only possible with registration and a currently valid negative decision (tested, vaccinated or recovered). FFP2 masks are compulsory during the entire event.

 

For the Jewish quarter, the Jewish cemetery, escape routes:
In the outdoor area of ​​the museum, guided tours are offered in small groups with a maximum of 12 people. Larger groups are divided. A tour guide system with a range of 200 meters is available for the participants. This makes it possible to keep a distance of two meters from one another.
The mask and test obligation naturally also applies to our employees.

 

Program overview

 

Current exhibition:

The last Europeans
Jewish perspectives on the crises of an idea
The Brunner family. A discount from October 4, 2020 to October 3, 2021

Jewish perspectives on the crises of an idea
75 years after the end of World War II, Europe is threatened with a relapse into nationalist and xenophobic ideologies. The European imperative “Never again!” Is being questioned by many, including here in Austria. At the same time, Europe's nationalists are discovering their own fantasy of the “Christian-Jewish Occident” - as a fighting term against immigration and integration. The values ​​of the Enlightenment, which formed the basis of European understanding after the catastrophes of the 20th century, are turned into their opposite and thus become a means of isolation and exclusion.

 

Permanent exhibition:

From the Middle Ages to today

The permanent exhibition of the Jewish Museum Hohenems in the Villa Heimann-Rosenthal conveys the history of the Jewish community from its beginnings to its end under National Socialism after 1938. It tells of a life between local ties and transnational family networks, of migration and homeland, hopes and successes and disappointments, persecution and escape routes. The new beginning of the survivors after 1945, the controversy over remembering and not remembering and the presence of the Hohenems diaspora, the prospects of the descendants are also discussed. Exhibits on life and annual cycles accompany the historical tour. Visitors are invited to move between the themes of history and those questions that are still relevant today.
Audio guides, video installations and a children's exhibition enrich the tour of the exhibition, whether you are visiting the museum alone, with your family or friends.

Time: 45 minutes - guided tour of the current exhibition and permanent exhibition

 

 

An ensemble of cultural importance

Guided tour of the permanent exhibition + Jewish quarter + Jewish cemetery: 3 hours

The former Jewish Quarter in Hohenems is an almost completely preserved ensemble with a Jewish history. In 1996 the most important parts were placed under protection by the Federal Monuments Office. Together with the former Christengasse, the former Jewish Quarter forms the urban core of Hohenems. The historical building stock of the city center is a cultural and historical testimony to the centuries-long coexistence of two traditional communities - the Christian and the Jewish - in this place.

The current building stock dates back to the late 18th and 19th centuries. In addition to the houses of the Jewish families, all buildings that served the religious or social functions of the community have been preserved: synagogue, mikveh (ritual bath), schoolhouse and poorhouse.

 

The museum cafe offers a pleasant indoor and outdoor space to stay as well as the surrounding restaurants in the Jewish quarter.

 

.

Führung Jüdisches Museum Hohenems , Österreich

Aussen-Jüdisches Museum Hohenems.JPG

 Foto  © boo

Bild für Webseite  - Jüdisches Museum Ho

 Foto  © Jüdisches Museum Hohenems

Gruppenführung, deutschsprachig, mit der Besichtigung der Dauerausstellung und der aktuellen Ausstellung, Jüdisches Viertel und Jüdischer Friedhof.

Termin:   So.26.September 2021

Die geplante Führung im Jüdischen Museum Hohenems wird wegen mangelnder Anmeldungen nicht stattfinden.

            

Die Anreise und Abreise erfolgt mit Privatfahrzeugen oder mit der Bahn ( Bodensee Ticket ) 

Die Führung beginnt um 11:00 mit dem gemeinsamen Treffpunkt in der Eingangshalle vom Museum.

Die Kosten der Führung betragen 15 Euro pro Person. Bei sozialbedürfigen Gemeindemitgliedern können die Kosten übernommen werden.       

             

Ausstellungsbesuch von Erwachsenen-Gruppen
Für die aktuelle Ausstellung „Die letzten Europäer“, Dauerausstellung:
Für Gruppen sind maximal 12 Personen zugelassen. Einführungen in Ausstellungen finden im Sitzen mit entsprechendem Abstand statt. Eine Teilnahme vor Ort ist nur mit Anmeldung möglich, sowie einem aktuell gültigen negativen Bescheid (getestet, geimpft oder genesen). Es gilt FFP2-Masken-Pflicht während der gesamten Veranstaltung.

Für das Jüdische Viertel, den Jüdischen Friedhof, Fluchtwege:
Im Außenbereich des Museums werden Führungen in Kleingruppen mit maximal 12 Personen angeboten. Größere Gruppen werden geteilt. Für die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen steht ein Tourguide-System zur Verfügung, das eine Reichweite von 200 Metern aufweist. Damit ist es möglich, einen Zwei-Meter-Abstand zueinander einzuhalten.
Die Masken- und Test-Pflicht gilt selbstverständlich auch für unsere MitarbeiterInnen.
 

Programmübersicht

 

Aktuelle Ausstellung:

Die letzten Europäer
Jüdische Perspektiven auf die Krisen einer Idee
Die Familie Brunner. Ein Nachlass 4. Oktober 2020 bis 3. Oktober 2021

Jüdische Perspektiven auf die Krisen einer Idee
75 Jahre nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs ist Europa von einem Rückfall in nationalistische und fremdenfeindliche Ideologien bedroht. Der europäische Imperativ „Nie wieder!“ wird von vielen in Frage gestellt, auch hier in Österreich. Zugleich entdecken Europas Nationalisten ihre eigene Fantasie vom „christlich-jüdischen Abendland“ – als Kampfbegriff gegen Zuwanderung und Integration. Die Werte der Aufklärung, die die Grundlage europäischer Verständigung nach den Katastrophen des 20. Jahrhunderts bildeten, werden in ihr Gegenteil verkehrt und so zum Mittel der Abschottung und der Ausgrenzung.

Dauerausstellung:

Vom Mittelalter bis heute

Die Dauerausstellung des Jüdischen Museums Hohenems in der Villa Heimann-Rosenthal vermittelt die Geschichte der Jüdischen Gemeinde von ihren Anfängen bis zu ihrem Ende im Nationalsozialismus nach 1938. Sie erzählt von einem Leben zwischen lokalen Bindungen und transnationalen Familiennetzwerken, von Migration und Heimat, Hoffnungen, Erfolgen und Enttäuschungen, Verfolgung und Fluchtwegen. Thematisiert wird auch der Neubeginn der Überlebenden nach 1945, der Streit um Erinnern und Nicht-Erinnern und die Gegenwart der Hohenemser Diaspora, die Perspektiven der Nachkommen. Exponate zu den Lebens- und Jahreszyklen begleiten den historischen Rundgang. Die Besucher sind eingeladen, sich zwischen den Themen der Geschichte und jenen Fragen zu bewegen, die heute nach wie vor relevant sind.
Audioguides, Videoinstallationen und eine Kinderausstellung bereichern den Ausstellungsrundgang, gleich ob Sie allein, mit Ihrer Familie oder Ihren Freunden das Museum besuchen.

Zeit: 45 Minuten - Führung aktuelle Aussstellung und Dauerausstellung

Ein Ensemble von kultureller Bedeutung

Führung Dauerausstellung + Jüdisches Viertel + Jüdischer Friedhof: 3 Stunden

Das ehemalige Jüdische Viertel in Hohenems ist ein fast lückenlos erhaltenes Ensemble mit jüdischer Geschichte. Im Jahr 1996 erfolgte die Unterschutzstellung der wesentlichsten Teile durch das Bundesdenkmalamt. Zusammen mit der ehemaligen Christengasse bildet das ehemalige Jüdische Viertel den urbanen Kern von Hohenems. Der historische Baubestand des Stadtzentrums ist ein kulturhistorisches Zeugnis für die jahrhundertelange Koexistenz von zwei Traditionsgemeinschaften – der christlichen und der jüdischen – in diesem Ort.

Der heutige Baubestand geht auf das ausgehende 18. und das 19. Jahrhundert zurück. Erhalten sind – neben den Wohnhäusern der jüdischen Familien – alle Gebäude, die den religiösen oder sozialen Gemeindefunktionen dienten: Synagoge, Mikwe (Ritualbad), Schulhaus und Armenhaus.

Das Museumscafe bietet einen angenehmen Innen- und Aussenraum zum Verweilen sowie die umliegenden Restaurants im Jüdischen Viertel.

.